Alaska, Hawaii and their native populations

Both Alaska and Hawaii became U.S. states in 1950 but they both have a long rich history and culture with many unique people.

Hawaii started out as just a territory in the pacific that was useful to our war efforts in WWII. Now it is a U.S. state and a hot tourist destination. The population is booming now with 1.416 million people, but it only had 498,000 back in 1950.

Hawaii has a rich history starting in 400 C.E. when the islands were first inhabited. Crazy that the population was separated from the world for at least 500 years until it was re-discovered in 1778. There is actually a holiday called “Statehood Day” celebrated in Hawaii ever since it became a state. Did you know that surfing was invented in Hawaii? The U.S. first used Hawaii as a military location in 1898. Hula dancing is HUGE in Hawaii and is now a worldwide symbol of Hawaiian culture. I think that the culture in this state is really cool and that Polynesians settled it some time ago, now it is a well known place that has over a million residents and is very connected to the world.

Denali

Now, Alaska. It is the biggest state at 663,300 square miles. But it only has a population of 731,545 people(2019). And it is really spread out over just a few big cities and a lot of small towns like Homer and Nome. Alaska is home to the Inuit people and Eskimo people. There are still over 160,000 living in Canada, Alaska, and Greenland. They have blended into modern society and enjoy comforts such as electricity. Inuktitut is there native language. They first settled Alaska in 1000 AD and have been there ever since.

Now, both of these places are beautiful and there are so many more native Americans so this was just two cool groups. Thanks for reading!

13 thoughts on “Alaska, Hawaii and their native populations

  1. Nice job! I like all the facts you put in, I can see why people want to live in Hawaii. What exactly do the people in Hawaii do on Statehood Day?

    Like

  2. Nice job! The picture is really cool and I like all the facts you put in. I can definitely see why people want to live in Hawaii. What exactly do the people in Hawaii do on Statehood Day?

    Like

  3. this was a very wonderful article I like how you focused on the natives entirely usually on things like this it doesn’t even focus on the actual topic. My question is where did you find all this information?

    Like

  4. Colton-
    I thought that this post was very interesting. I had no idea there was a Statehood Day, and I also never knew that surfing started in Hawaii. Its crazy how much I didn’t know about these two states. I like how you combined information on two states that are totally opposite in size and climate. I also like all the interesting facts such as the surfing fact that really hooked me into the post. Overall, just super interesting, good job!

    -Emma Steen

    Like

  5. its interesting that Alaska, the largest state in the U.S. has half the population of the small islands of Hawaii. I think they are both very geographically stunning with their mountains and snow, and rising volcanoes. I would like to learn more about the geography around there and how early settlers adapted to the conditions.

    Like

  6. Colton
    This post is very good. I found it interesting that Alaska is the biggest state yet not many people live there. I also did not know that the US used Hawaii as training grounds and a common place for the military before the islands became a state in America. How often is the Hawaiian and Alaskan language used in those states? Overall, great job!
    – Annika

    Like

  7. I thought this post was really interesting and especially the section on Hawaii. To think that Hawaii has played such a huge part in helping the U.S. military is really interesting. I had just assumed that Hawaii had been a state during World War 2 but the fact that I didn’t become a state till much later was interesting. I was wondering when exactly did Hawaii become a state? Great work on the blog!

    Like

  8. Colton,
    I definitely found some very interesting facts in this blog such as how Hawaii was used during WWII, and also about the hula dancing and surfing information. It was also cool to see the population of both states and how the size being so different didn’t effect the population. I liked reading this because it shared a lot of information that I didn’t know that is cool info to share around with other people.
    -Cayenne

    Like

  9. Colton,
    I though that your blog was really cool and well researched. I honestly never knew how early Hawaii was populated, that being several hundred years ago, or that surfing was actually invented in Hawaii. I also thought it was interesting that Alaska still has many Eskimo and Inuit people living there, and that about 160,000 of them still live across Canada, Alaska, and Greenland. One thing I am curious to know is the elevation of the tallest mountain in Alaska, which I believe is one of the taller ones in the states. Great job on your blogs, hope you continue to enjoy making them!

    -James Phelps

    Like

  10. It’s actually really interesting their are native groups in Alaska I never knew that. My family and I watch shows about Alaska all the time. Great job I loved reading it.

    Like

  11. Wow that was really cool, I loved the facts about Alaska and I thought it was really cool that people in Hawaii invented surfing! Do other states also celebrate Statehood Day or is it just Hawaii.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started